Home Meeting Dates Outings
  Navigation Map+Directions Getting Started
Canterbury Churches East Kent Churches Civic Cemeteries

All Saints (Medieval)


Over Canterbury's long history, and not counting the Non-Conformist places of worship, this small city can count roughly 20 churches which at one time or another have stood within the city walls. Plus a further 10 in the city suburbs just outside the walls.  After several out-breaks of plague and other factors reduced the medieval population parishes were merged and some vanished. In the Baedeker Raids of June 1942 the city lost a few more ancient church buildings but many are still standing today. Although redundant these places of worship have new roles such as community centres, theatres etc. ensuring they remain for future generations to see the places where their ancestors' significant life events took place.. Nowadays the city centre parishes have nearly all amalgamated (except Christchurch and Eastbridge Hospital) and are now the  Canterbury City Centre Parish; with services shared in the ancient churches of St Mildred and St Peter.

Records of both the city and the diocese of Canterbury are held in Cathedral Archives which opens for researchers on three days each week plus once a month on a Saturday morning. Booking to research at Canterbury Cathedral Archives although not compulsory is advisable especially if you are travelling far. Images of the original parish registers for most parishes in Canterbury and East Kent may be found online at There is free access to these images via computers within the Cathedral Archives or from home by subscription to Find my past.

County Corporate Status: When researching in Canterbury it should be noted that between 1471 and 1972 the city was a county corporate i.e. a county in its own right. It was independent of the administration of the county of Kent and looked after its own affairs such as police, education etc. and had its own county assizes. It was not always the case that trials were held in the most logical place. Hence it would be well to check the archives at Canterbury if you can't find documents in the county archives at Maidstone and vice versa.

Civil Registration Districts:  when civil registration was introduced in 1837 the division of the City and Borough of Canterbury was, as with other places in the UK, designated by population numbers. But it must have been a complete stranger to the city who traced out Canterbury because for example,  you might reasonably expect that all people born within Canterbury Cathedral Precincts would be registered in the Canterbury Registration District. However, until quite recently BMDs for Christchurch, Staplegate and The Archbishop's Palace were registered in the Blean Registration District; as were
parts of the parish of St Mary Northgate. Parishes without the walls St Gregory, St Dunstan were also in Blean District whilst St Martin and St Paul were in Canterbury Registration District. There were changes in the 1940s when some parishes, formerly in The Blean Registration District,  were put in the Bridge Registration District. More information about Registration Districts may be found at UK BMD.


All Saints (Modern)

Bertha the Queen

Canterbury Cathedral, Christchurch

Four Crowned Martyrs

Holy Cross Westgate within+without

Holy Sepulchre (St Sepulchre)

St Augustine's Abbey

St Alban the Garrison Church

St Alphege

St Andrew

St Columba

St Dunstan

St Edmund King and Martyr

St George the Martyr

St Gregory the Great

St John the Baptist

St Helen

St Margaret

St Martin of Tours

St Mary (Abbey)

St Mary Bredin

St Mary Bredman

St Mary De Castro

St Mary Magdalene

St Mary Northgate

St Mary Queningate

St Michael Burgate

St Mildred

St Pancras (Abbey)

St Paul

St Peter


 Roman Catholic


Tricia Baxter, Webmaster

David Wood, Branch Chairman

Page updated01 August 2015